Begin Anywhere

Somehow, through and despite all of the recent change and loss…there is a ring that remains on my left hand. It reads simply: begin anywhere.

I had no idea just how prophetic and haunting this ring would become. It is a daily reminder with a depth of meaning that words fail to convey. A reminder that is both intensely bitter and somehow, in often subtle ways, still sweet.

One thing that has not changed is my appetite for reading material. Memoirs in particular continue to deeply inspire and resonate. Trent Preszler’s Little and Often left me breathless with: “I knew how hard it was to grow back after being cut down.” Well. How gut-wrenchingly accurate.

Beginning is a choice, and maybe the most meaningful ones are more of an ongoing and continual choosing rather than a one-time deal…part of me hates even considering that.

There is so very much that I would change if I could, things I would undo and alternate pathways I would take. But I can’t. And so, as excruciating as it sometimes feels, I continue to make the decision to begin where I am.

My current email is: dianewriter423@gmail.com

Leave a comment